Bleachers Beware

Bleaching my hair was one of the best and worst experiences I’ve ever had. About a year ago I was dying to dye my hair silver. About six months after I first started toying with the idea, I finally convinced my mother to let me do it. – Yes I was 23 and still needing my mothers approval. I will always need it, so what? – Anyway, so there I am in the salon and the stylist begins the bleaching process. My head started to burn and itch so badly. After the allotted time she washed out the first round of bleach and I looked like Draco Malfoy. I was left thinking “oh god what did I just do?!”

I was able to stay calm and hopeful and lo and behold my hair came out pretty amazing much to my surprise. I was so satisfied with my hair I came back to her not much later than a month after my visit for a touch up, and then not even two months after that I was there again. This is where my inexperience and lack of knowledge of hair care forsake me. My hair became so weak and brittle. The slightest touch would make the strands break and fall out. My long beautiful hair was gone. With every round of bleach inches were chopped away. At a pace much slower than your average turtle, my hair finally began to grow.

I had tried everything to get my hair to grow, from deep conditioning treatments to vitamin B12 overload. Eventually my hair was so short at the top from so much breakage that it was decided I needed a pixie cut. Being accustomed to long voluminous hair, this was a style I had feared to try. So here I am almost exactly one year after dying my hair sitting in a different salon, with a different stylist who is much more cautious with my hair and needs. I am petrified to say the least. I had my two best friends with me and tears streaming down my face.

When I looked up all my hair was gone. – Not that there was much of it before. – I can see that the style wasn’t at all what I feared in my head, yet my insecurities were still with me. Can I pull this look off? I had always hidden behind my hair. Can I pull this look off? People are going to think I look like a boy.ย Can I pull this look off? Dear lord, I look so fat…

I look to my best friends seeking comfort and there they were beaming from ear to ear and raving about my hair. I’m glad I had them with me, I don’t know if I would have gone through with it without them. Everyone has been very polite since the ordeal, but it is still an adjustment for me.

I now know that if I ever plan to dye my hair again I must do extensive research first. Treatments are to be done the before bleaching to help protect the hair follicle as well as in-between bleaching sessions. One should also not bleach their hair so often within a certain period of time. There are so many different kind of products to protect and nourish color treated hair and I know that now. Heed my warnings and do your research or you too might have to chop off your hair.ย ๐Ÿ’‡๐Ÿผย ๐Ÿ’‡๐Ÿผย ๐Ÿ’‡๐Ÿผ

